Ok then here goes:
S'alright, apparently Morgan was sent off for two yellows. I didn't see the second one, only the red
Thi was one thing that picked up on, and maybe its just me but the Dowd did show both cards but in the wrong order. Picky i know but he will be marked down for it.
To answer
Not sure about being caught, and maybe yes there was enough contact to go down.
But..... at the other end of the spectrum, we have Frazer Campbell clearly being pulled and under a lot of pressure and staying on his feet.
&
How come their man wasn't booked, yet Morgan was?
What was the difference, if any?
Here is where alot of problems are caused, and most are by the idiot commentators/analysts on the beeb and sky.
Law 12 of the Laws of Association footbal state that offences can should be categorized in three ways i.e. Careless, Reckless or using excessive force. Now i havent seen the incident with sharp on a replay, and i didnt see it live either as i was at the loo, but if what has been said is true and it looks like he was clipped, then that would be the reason why he didnt get booked for it. We still get a penalty because sharp was through (If thats right. as above i didnt see it)
Law 12 also states that a direct free kick is to be awarded from where the offence occurred if a player holds an opponent. Before i get slated for saying that holding isnt pulling, or "why then didn't he/she get booked" the whole LOAF (Laws of Association Football) is open to inturpretation (spelling please mousey) by individuals (although this isnt stated) and holding thus includes pulling. Pulling could also be included under the "Impedes the progress of an opponent" Either is in fact punishable by a caution.
The point of an advantage is that it gets brought back if there is no development in play, as was the case. Referees can go back and book a player at a break in play. Shouldn't have pulled him back there was no need, definate second booking no complaints.
I think Ugo's looked better recently anyway, without being booked
GCB is pretty much on the money with this one.
Law 5 states-
LAW 5 - The Referee said:
allows play to continue when the team against which an offence has been committed will benefit from such an advantage and penalises the original offence if the anticipated advantage does not ensue at that time
however the reason i think morgan did complain so much is that down was originally giving the freekick, but the
Assistant Referee signalled to Dowd that he had seen it differently. insert the following:
LAW 6 - The Assistant Referees said:
when offences have been committed whenever the assistants are closer to the action than the referee (this includes, in particular circumstances, offences committed in the penalty area)
For me the reason Morgan got booked is that the Assistant was closer to the play and also could see that had he not pulled the player back he would have been through on goal. For this reason Dowd saw fit to book him again which was the correct action.