New Manager?

All advertisments are hidden for logged in members, why not log in/register?

Tony_Kaufman

Here's a truck stop instead of St Peter's
Reaction score
We all keep wracking our brains trying to come up with the long term solution to this mess we're in. Everyone says Hecky out but no one seems to be able to come up with a viable alternative.

A lot of people agree not to bring in a long term replacement now, as they are unlikely to turn things around and would have the stigma of this season attached to them next season. For that reason a lot of people feel that Hecky should go and someone should come in to see us go down, but to go down with some organisation, fight and pride, then recruit a long term manager for next season.

I've struggled to come up with a name myself until today. Now I'm not saying I'm an expert (far from it), nor that I have a solution, but among all the names I've seen bandied around there's one that I've not seen mentioned.

Lee Carsley.

He's a proven manager but hasn't really had a decent crack at league management yet. He's on a rolling one year deal with the FA as under 21 manager, so compensation won't be that daft. He has a winning mentality. Through his job as under 21 manager he has connections throughout the Premier League and Championship, so getting good young players to come on loan would be easier, and also he'd know how to get the best out of them, and much like Steve Cooper, they would want to play for him. If his teams play like he did then there'll be no lack of effort.

Thoughts?

Will Still for me but I can’t see us approaching him or him seeing it being the right job to move to England for at this stage.

Not sure we should have someone in who hasn’t got first team management experience. Be better off with Micheal Carrick and I wouldn’t fancy him either. Mind you, he probably wouldn’t fancy us