End of season thoughts from American fan.

All advertisments are hidden for logged in members, why not log in/register?

beaubro

Reaction score
Since I started following The Blades a few years back I’ve been privileged to experience (from a distance) the yo-yo affect of relegation and promotion. I’m still somewhat new to deeply understanding the sport so I used to believe that a promotion to the PL was a grand achievement and the end all be all. Watching this season made me feel like it’s not all that. I loved watching the seasons in the Championship. There was a different feel to it and I’m hopeful that things are better next year, but equally nervous for another rough go. Teach me if this is a bad take.

Lots of American soccer-fan friends ask me why I chose a “crap” team. Would it surprise you that they all support top-3 $$$$ clubs? They’ve also maybe actually watched 1-2 matches the entire year. Their fandom is mostly consigned to instagram updates and trash talk. I won’t rehash in this post everything that lead up to me liking this team and everything about it. At the end of the day I’m no bandwagon fan and not really in it for the glory that big oil money brings. Would it be nice to see The Blades dominate at the top? Absolutely, but thats not what captured my interest for this club. So for better or worse I’m in it for good. No switching. Y’all cool with that?

Misery loves company so I’m glad that I learned a lot reading these forums and getting some good laughs too. The Red Half of Sheffield, BladesPod, SUWay and TravellingBlade podcasts and YouTube channels were my favorite weekly digest and I’m thankful for their content. Hoping to one day soon make it out there to experience it all in person if you’ll have me.