Any Advice for an American Fan?

All advertisments are hidden for logged in members, why not log in/register?

beaubro

Reaction score
Hello everyone,

In 2019 my best friend (a former collegiate player in the U.S.) encouraged me to get into EFL and Premier League teams. I was a wrestler through school and college and I never played "soccer." So I will admit that my interest in the sport was pretty limited. My wife was also a player through her schooling days so I figured I'd need to learn about the sport. So I felt my first task was picking a team.

When I asked my friend how to pick a team to support, he told me to watch matches and that "you'll know it in your heart." I am not a fair-weather fan so when I find a team to support I am all-in for better and for worse. I spent the summer before the 2020 season reading about the teams and discovered SUFC. Within a few minutes reading about the team and history I was hooked. I am an engineer for a large U.S. steel manufacturing mill so SUFC's connection to the steel industry was exciting. I was also drawn to SUFC because it didn't seem like a big money team that draws a lot of bang-wagon support. Watching the relegation at the end of 2021 didn't phase me either. Keeping up with the team through the Championship and watching the promotion was even more exciting.

So, what advice does anyone here for a new-ish fan of SUFC? What are some things I should know, watch or read up on? Hopefully someday culminating in a match in-person at Bramall Lane someday. I was supposed to travel to London at the end of last season with my friend to watch a few matches of the FA Cup. We were going to attend the match vs Man City, but I had to change plans last minute (when you have a baby it gets a bit harder to travel.)

Open to any insight or chat!

Hello everyone,