Wilder's first punt

All advertisments are hidden for logged in members, why not log in/register?

Reaction score
So, what do we think?
My opinion, a brave and well thought out first go, he's had 2 days with these players.
We were all perplexed by the initial selection. Brooks at Lwb? 532? 442, 541, 433 never! Where was Trusty gonna play in a centre 3? Who was LWB?
I'm no tactical expert, but none of these imo.
Back 4 for sure it seemed, Trusty told to look after Sala, which he did commensurately, and Sala was subbed eventually!
A back 4 that looked better than the back 5 we have been playing most games. Giving us an extra man for the forward play.
Every player upped their game, we were competing, we went forward well, we passed the ball!!
I personally think Liverpool will win or at least get close to winning the EPL. They are immense in every department. Their levels of fitness are unbelievable v us. We get the ball in a threatening position, 3 or 4 players immediately on our one player. Then reverse the situation, they have 6 to 8 players in attack. Phenomal.
We are minnows in comparison. But! We competed, we strove so hard, we had opportunities, we could have won or drawn on a different night. Two debatable dodgy goals, a very good penalty shout for us. Small margins.
My only criticism is to bring on Norwood , Fleck and Traore for 3 of our best players tonight, and reduce our team height so substantially. We were left with only Anel and Robbo at about 6' plus. Crazy! For whatever reason. Get a grip Chris.
Liverpool are a skillful but big team, as most EPL players are. OK if it's Messy or Bellingham coming on?
Enough said, massive and well thought improvements, keep the faith. Both Florist and Palace in freefall. Add in Luton, Burnley, maybe Everton and Fulham, not Bournemouth any more, and we have something to go at.
25 or 28 pts may be enough, depending, this year.
Thank you Chris, (and Alan) for giving us some hope, don't let it be in vain.