Cup Semi-Finals.

All advertisments are hidden for logged in members, why not log in/register?

Woodwardfan

Woodwardfan
Reaction score
I've been supporting United since I was 8 in 1956. This will be the only the sixth semi-final the club has reached in those 60 years ; we've never won one of course. When I was now't but a lad it seemed a regular Sunday morning event getting up at the crack of dawn armed with sandwiches and a flask to queue for big match tickets Subsequent years were to prove it was a relatively golden era.

The purpose of this OP is twofold:

1. Young supporters should not assume this club does this well in the cups normally.
2. To emphasise the size of the manager's achievements in reaching two semi-finals in his first 15 months with the club. To do it as a League 1 club is unprecedented for any club and in our club's history the average time per semi has been 10 years!!

We have a good chance tonight and if there were such a thing as the law of averages then it must favour us surely. Good luck United.

I've been to every one of those semis but tonight we've decided to watch it on TV. Maybe that will change our luck.
So you Blades "Give'em one for me tonight", we'll have the volume turned up to full !

My first game was 73.
We did nowt in the cups until Bassett came along.
"Young uns" who have been watching since the early nineties have had it good.
But your right surely by the law of averages?

Didn't we reach one in the early 60s?

I've been supporting United since I was 8 in 1956. This will be the only the sixth semi-final the club has reached in those 60 years

Seventh.

1961, 1993, 1998, 2003, 2003 again, 2014, 2015.

Not that this detracts from your point.

Post war:

1961 Leicester FA cup semi
1993 Pigs FA Cup semi
1998 Newcastle FA Cup semi
2003 Liverpool League Cup semi
2003 Arsenal FA Cup semi
2014 Hull FA Cup semi
2015 Spurs League Cup semi

My first game was 73.
We did nowt in the cups until Bassett came along.