What is it with this obsession of having a target man ?

All advertisments are hidden for logged in members, why not log in/register?

Fascinating game, that Chess malarkey ;)

You don't like it. That's OK.

Does it ever occur to you WHY Spanish clubs (and not just the big 2) have utterly dominated in European club comps for a long long time ?

If you can get your head round this, you might make a Jedi yet !

UTB

Dronnie , I am still a trainee Jedi , but love Spanish football especially that team from Madrid who play in red and white stripes. .Where the fuck does that put me .:D

Did Wigan and Burton use "Target men" ?

No .

This notion that a target man is essential for success in this division is fundamentally flawed.

Beginning to increasingly agree with Pinchy.

The gerritupanatem brigade at BDTBL have much to answer for.

The academy is schooled to play a modern version of football. The idea, going back to Pembertons time is that with this particular type of coaching being consistent with the philosophy of the first team squad, the transition from academy to first team is much less difficult. Passing, pressing and movement.

We have seen the first team under Weir, Clough and Adkins try (and I will accept fail) to adopt a possession based game. Passing the ball sideways a lot, which has led to fans frustrations. I get this, I really do. Fans will have had enough of us fannying around trying to play like Barcelona when we simply do not have the right players to execute.

The introduction of a higher tempo to this overall strategy would, IMHO, make a world of difference.

In short, we are on the right path, it's not time to go back to the 80s, and I have faith that Wilder recognises that tempo in our play has been our biggest problem and is taking steps to rectify it.

If you can't or won't see this then fuck it, get Hanson, Hendo et al so that we can have a bit of WWF down at the Lane rather than good, exciting and winning football.

UTB